New Map: Conquering the Sierras

Discussion about reviews and strategies for user created scenarios made for RT3 version 1.05 and earlier.
Moabdave
Hobo

New Map: Conquering the Sierras Unread post

This scenario didn't turn out how I wanted it to. However, I was almost finished when I realized it wasn't going to work like I wanted. However, not all is bad; It's quite a likable scenario. I think I like this one better my Nevada scenario. (Of the three I did this summer, I'd rank Utah the best, followed by this one, then Nevada) This was supposed to be a combination of historical scenario (regarding the Western Pacific vs Southern Pacific between Reno, Nevada and Sacramento, California) and a beat the AI scenario (which I've never done before). Problem, the AI is incredibly stupid with this map. Beating the AI is the easy part; it's the building of the competing line to the AI's that takes forever. I would appreciate some pointers from people on how to make a scenario so that the AI is tough, but beatable. However, I don't think I'll change anything with this scenario. After I've taken another hiatus, maybe I'll rebuild it from scratch with the feedback. For now, it's time to get back to playing other people's scenarios for a bit. =-) Hawk, please post this, and my Nevada scenario when you get around to it. Thanks for everything you do. David
OilCan
Engineer

Re: New Map- conquering the Sierras Unread post

Look at the events list in Denver and Western, Michigan 1830 and Great Northern (and South Africa if time) to see how the map makers for these scenarios made the AIs smarter and tougher. All these scenarios are good general references on how to write events. I'm sure there are other good scenarios which boost the AI - maybe others in this forum will chime in with scenario names.