Newbie here with questions

Discussion of Pop Top's last release of RRT.
bmheron
Hobo

Newbie here with questions Unread post

Hi everyone,
I've been playing RT3 for years, silently, not aware there was a community of fellow players out here. So glad to find this forum! I have version 1.00 running and pretty much completed all of the scenarios and campaigns to gold at the highest level. And it looks like there might be a slew of patches and downloadable scenarios and maps? So a couple of beginner comments/questions:

1) I'm running Windows 7 on a work computer. sounds like people had some trouble installing patches.

2) Really Id just like to play some new scenarios. Are they something I can just download? Or do I need to upgrade to a specific version/patch?

3) what's the "coast to coast" patch I keep reading about?

Not looking to do anything crazy, just enjoy playing the game with some new challenges. Anything else you'd recommend?

bmheron
Blackhawk
CEO

Re: Newbie here with questions Unread post

Welcome to the forums. :salute:

-Windows 7 is easier to get it working on than Windows vista. Many people have been able to just install and patch the game and it worked correctly, although others had to use a few tricks to get it working.

-Most of the fan made scenarios are either version 1.05 or 1.06. Version 1.05 is the last official patch, while 1.06 added a few more locomotives, added the ability to sell at a loss, as well as variables (which are important for scenario makers). (1.05 maps and 1.06 maps are not interchangeable and should be played on the correct version of RT3)

-Coast to Coast is also known as the 1.04 update patch. It includes fixes to the game, ~8 new locomotives and ~13 new maps.

If you were going to do something crazy you could try installing the fan made mod to RT3 called Trainmaster (TM) but it is a much more difficult version of RT3 and there are not many scenarios for it.