Two Toots to you too!

New Members! Please stop by here and introduce yourselves.
LouisXIV

Two Toots to you too! Unread post

Hi: Gerry here from Kitchener, Ontario, Canada, not too far from the infamous Toronto.

I love good strategy games. I started playing Railroad Tycoon II when it first came out and did for many years. When RRT III came out, I recall I didn't have a good enough computer to run it. When I finally got a computer that could run it, RRT III was no longer on the market, and RRT II wouldn't run on it properly, so I sort of lost it until now. (Didn't know about eBay, Amazon, etc back then.)

I still have my copy of RRT II, and now I have a son who is interested. I have a strictly (legacy) gaming computer, a P-4 2.4 gHz XP SP-3 for games, that he (and I) uses. I thought I saw something about a file or procedure to help you play RRT II on XP. Can anyone help me with that until I can get a copy of RRTIII?

Btw, LouisXIV is my standard name for all the boards I sign onto, so I won't forget. I am a volunteer moderator on the CDV website for strategy military games. I figured that Louis XIV of France was the biggest warmonger in history - he started 4 major wars for his own personal glory - so I thought I'd use him as my moniker.

Around here - and I think standard for North America - Two toots means you're about to start moving forward. I think that's appropriate here.
Gwizz
CEO

Re: Two Toots to you too! Unread post

What version of RRT2 do you have.

I have not tried the first version. But, on TSC and Gold it works fine on XP.
Stop by The Terminal site. There are a few of us die hards that still play RRT2.

I believe Hawk has all the maps here as well.
Welcome aboard.
Blackhawk
CEO

Welcome (*!!wel

I thought I was able to get RTII (the original version) working on XP. I know I currently play RTII Platinum on XP and Vista. Maybe it was just my Platinum version **!!!**
nedfumpkin
CEO

Hi Gerry....Welcome aboard from Hamilton!