Events not being processed

Tips and Tricks on Events, Economy, etc.
undertoad
Watchman

Events not being processed Unread post

Hi all

I'm just beginning to mess around with events to get to understand them. I've read Oilcan's (as usual :-D ) excellent guide to writing events.

I'm not doing anything very complicated (e.g. with variables): just trying to make one thing happen on a certain date. I'm enjoying laying track in the Sierras after Gold on CPR, and just trying out things to spice up the situation. Getting Baldwin 0-6-0s back (why do they disappear so quickly? Great, reliable little engine for hauling industry raw materials over short distances), giving myself Shays etc.

So I managed to get two time-based events to fire. The third one, for some reason, just refuses to even be processed, let along fired. I've attached a screenshot. Originally this was timed for Monthly (start of month), like the others. I tried Yearly, testing Game Year, then back to Monthly, testing Game Month YYYYMM, then to Weekly. Whatever I do, this event just doesn't get processed: the Event Debugger shows that it doesn't even get processed (0).

Is this a known weirdness with events? I tried moving the event up and down the list, but that made no difference.

thanks for any ideas!
Attachments
BadEvent.jpg
undertoad
Watchman

Re: Events not being processed Unread post

Update on this mysterious problem:

NONE of the regular periodic events are being triggered, not even the pre-built ones that came with the campaign. I checked this by finding a pre-built event which was set to Monthly (start of month). This was processed 212 times since the start (Event Debugging screen). Exited the editor, let about 6 months pass on Fast speed. Back to the editor: that event had still only been processed 212 times.

Really weird. Would love to know if this has happened to anyone else, and if there's a cure.
RulerofRails
CEO

undertoad wrote:I'm enjoying laying track in the Sierras after Gold on CPR.