Spawned Buildings

Topics on how to write scenarios for TrainMaster.

Moderator: nedfumpkin

Spawned Buildings

Unread postby Hawk » Sun Dec 06, 2009 3:55 pm

What buildings should be spawned only - not placed manually?
Are there any buildings which could be placed manually but might be best to left to be spawned?
Hawk
Purveyor of: The Hawk & Badger Railroad | Swindell Family

Webmaster for: Merci Train | Art's Bagels | B&B Lawnmower

The game of life is not so much in holding a good hand as playing a poor hand well.
~ H. T. Leslie ~
User avatar
Hawk
The Big Dawg
 
Posts: 5735
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Georgia - USA

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby nedfumpkin » Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:23 pm

I would venture to say that the landfill should be spawned but in a region outside a city.

Logging camps, iron mines, coal mines and bauxite mines do well when spawned, but I also place at least one so that if you aren't quick getting to a region they don't begin disappearing. This also allows for them to come about based on service to an area.

Other than that, I would say that most general industries can be spawned, but it depends on the map maker. Bear in mind that you always want to make sure that the player can make what they need.

Limited industries, like Legislatures, Military bases, etc, shoud be placed.

At least that my opinion, and others may have differences after playing and creating maps.
User avatar
nedfumpkin
CEO
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Hamilton - Canada

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby Hawk » Sun Dec 06, 2009 4:42 pm

The reason I was asking is I'm thinking of manually placing most of the buildings myself, spawning only what should not be placed manually, with a couple of exceptions.
I'm thinking this would give more control of the industrial environment. Is that faid thinking?
Hawk
Purveyor of: The Hawk & Badger Railroad | Swindell Family

Webmaster for: Merci Train | Art's Bagels | B&B Lawnmower

The game of life is not so much in holding a good hand as playing a poor hand well.
~ H. T. Leslie ~
User avatar
Hawk
The Big Dawg
 
Posts: 5735
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2006 11:28 am
Location: Georgia - USA

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby nedfumpkin » Sun Dec 06, 2009 5:11 pm

That's precisely the thinking.
User avatar
nedfumpkin
CEO
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Hamilton - Canada

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby KenRuof » Sat Apr 02, 2011 4:35 pm

I have a question about building spawning through events.

1) I see Add XXX in the list, what is it?
2) I do not see "Add Waste Incinerator" in the list.

Ken
KenRuof
Hobo
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby nedfumpkin » Sat Apr 02, 2011 4:50 pm

When the list was open up for everything, it included the dummy.bca file. You can't delete it or else the game crashes, so it ends up on the list.

Only a certain number of buildings can be on the add buildings list, and the incinerator isn't included. You can always put one in at the beginning if you like. It does suck that the XXX dummy file is occupying a space that could be used for another building, but nothing I have tried to change that has worked.
User avatar
nedfumpkin
CEO
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Hamilton - Canada

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby KenRuof » Mon Apr 04, 2011 7:22 am

I see says the blind man, oh well it is what it is

Thanks
Ken
KenRuof
Hobo
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby nedfumpkin » Mon Apr 04, 2011 9:04 am

Don't forget that locomotives in TM don't have expiry dates, you have to put in an event to make them unavailable when you decide that they cannot be purchased anymore.

If you take a look at the Deadwood map I am working on, you can see how I am using passengers to territory to spawn stuff, as in as you haul passengers to a territory the settle and build stuff.
User avatar
nedfumpkin
CEO
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Hamilton - Canada

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby KenRuof » Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:12 am

I DL Deadwood and will have a look see, that is a cool idea about passengers.

I like playing with the events I have been able to put some important happenings in my PRR scn so far. I plan on doing several scenarios to span the different areas PA, OHIO, NJ/NY etc...

I did do the expire date on one engine "Norris" and dissabled every engine then put in events to enable the ones I want when they are available.

I need to figure out if I can create a company, build track and stations, merge it into the players "PRR" one then deactivate the company after all the PA assumed controlling interest in many RR's.

On the original subject, I have had about 95% success in spawning builds but sometimes it crashes the game, have not figured out why yet.

Ken
KenRuof
Hobo
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat Mar 12, 2011 2:42 pm

Re: Spawned Buildings

Unread postby nedfumpkin » Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:29 am

make sure you give your new buildings enough place to spawn or else if they can't find a place they won't show up. Go with a radius of 5-7 for sure. Crashing could be anything, need to know more details.

The company thing sounds like it should be a specific goal in the game.
User avatar
nedfumpkin
CEO
 
Posts: 2367
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2008 10:16 pm
Location: Hamilton - Canada


Return to Scenario Creation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RulerofRails and 1 guest