Help wanted

Discussion of any computer-related issues.
Grandma Ruth
CEO

Help wanted Unread post

I wonder if you can give me some advice on a few problems I'm having? I'm not very technical so forgive me if these are simple problems that I ought to solve in seconds!

My husband bought me a new video card for Christmas (how romantic!) and my son-in-law installed it for me. Since then, the computer's gone pear-shaped, but I don't want to upset my son-in-law by asking him to fix it.

First of all, the thing won't shut down properly. It goes through all the shut down routine but doesn't actually switch off. If you switch it off manually it starts a scandisk when you switch back on again - "improper shutdown". I've worked through the MS Help shutdown wizard and nothing fixes it. I have Windows ME, by the way.

Then something's gone wrong with the sound - there just isn't any. In the diagnostic thing there aren't any hardware conflicts and, yes, all the leads are in and so on. I very rarely have the sound turned on so this could be a long-standing problem for all I know.

Then the Old Man bought me SMRR for my birthday and it won't launch. It's installed OK and we've got as far as a couple of seconds into the video before it says it's caused a problem with Kernel.DLL (?) and will shut down. Usually it doesn't even get to that stage. When you try and launch, it accesses the CD, then there's a bit of whirring back and forth with the hard disk, then nothing.

If anybody can tell me what I need to do about any of this, I'd be most grateful. Sorry for the lack of technical details.
Knave
Conductor

Unread post