Gilligan's Isle - Beta

Discussion about reviews and strategies for user created scenarios made for RT3 version 1.06.
OilCan
Engineer

Gilligan's Isle - Beta Unread post

This is a crazy little game that I have been working off and on again for about 2 years.

The whole premise is the 1960s TV show of Gilligan's Isle - except this time with a railroad.
(For our European friends and anyone born after 1985, Gilligan Isle became a US icon of an era of early TV comedy. An insanely silly show with the same plot twisted different ways each week. And a theme song which never leaves you. For us old codgers, the show's title is enough to bring out a chuckle. There are several websites about Gilligan's Island, but here's a good one: http://www.gilligansisle.com/ )

This is a 1.06V. It is a connect and haul game. Money is, of course, meaningless on the island, but RT3 does a strange thing when you disable all money related things: it puts the player into sandbox mode. There is no cargo demand so trains will not haul what you want them to. All kinds of different cargo magically appear on train consists. Industry does not need raw resources. Because of this, I had to keep the money related things but tighty control them. Not the effect I wanted, but there was no other way.

The goals are point based: the player gains points for accomplishing various tasks.

I would be very interested in hearing opinions, comments and suggestions to help improve the game.

Note: Beta removed on Oct 14.
Last edited by OilCan on Sun Oct 14, 2012 9:32 am, edited 1 time in total.
Hawk
The Big Dawg

Re: Gilligan's Isle - Beta Unread post

I probably won't get a chance to play this for a day or two, but I did load it up in the game and so far I like what I see.

I could hear the melody in my head as I was reading the briefing. ^**lylgh
Hawk
gismoskip
Brakeman

Hawk wrote:I probably won't get a chance to play this for a day or two, but I did load it up in the game and so far I like what I see.