Fictional Scenario-Writing Tutorial:Part 1-Using Map Builder

Tips and Tricks on Events, Economy, etc.
Pepe
Hobo

Fictional Scenario-Writing Tutorial:Part 1-Using Map Builder Unread post

So, this is part 1 of the tutorial about creating a scenario. I'm a noob at this but these are my techniques. I hope they're great! So on with the show!

Creating a scenario isn't all fun & games. Or, at least, not until you're done. Make sure to take your time, you will always make minor tweaks after you play-test it. Also make sure you do frequent saves, otherwise you'll lose your data! *SAVEGAME* is what I will put when you should save. The tools you will need are: Railroad Tycoon 3 and MapBuilder, available to download.
To begin, go to the MapBuilder and this is what you'll see
MapBuilder1.jpg
Shown in the aqua-colored circle is the portion I have chosen. This is what I call an "interesting section" It has mountains, valleys, and even some ocean. But notice in the Red circle how big it is! This is way too big!
MapBuilder2.jpg
To make the map smaller, use the Resolution button, shown in the Red circle. In the other circle, you can see the difference in size. For the purpose of speed, I've made the map really small. Now chick the "Create Map" button. Your map will be saved as whatever you type in the name as. This automatically does our fabulous step for *SAVEGAME*
To be continued...
Joe"Pepe"Wrona
Logales
Watchman

Re: Fictional Scenario-Writing Tutorial:Part 1-Using Map Bui Unread post

Sorry to bother, but I can't find the link to MapBuilder ...
Hawk
The Big Dawg

If you have the original cd's (2), the Mapbuilder is on disc 2. It just needs installing.

Otherwise - http://hawkdawg.com/rrt/rrt3/Xtras/Tips_Tuts_Utils.htm About half way down the page.
Hawk
Logales
Watchman

Ha ok, this mapbuilder ^^

Thanks Hawk for pointing out the obvious :)
Pepe
Hobo

Oh! Sorry I forgt to point that out! But I'm glad you enjoined this. Part two will be here by 9:00CST
Joe"Pepe"Wrona
Pepe
Hobo