The Baghdad Railway

Discussion about reviews and strategies for user created scenarios made for RT3 version 1.05 and earlier.
jerseyjunior
Hobo

The Baghdad Railway Unread post

my favorite scenarios have been by E. Porter Hopson as he adds many historical events into his maps effectively putting you into that time and place: American Civil War Ver. 6 (especially after reading The Most Hated Man in the Southern States) and Gilded Age. However, it seems as though one of the most highly reviewed scenarios is The Baghdad Railway by Lars (Lama) Maischak. There is even a sound pack for authentic Arab sounds available for it so you don't have to listen to "western" sounds. But, I have to tell ya, I think I'm a savy manager, but I have yet to win this scenario. It's freaking hard!!! :? I must be missing something here.
canis39
Brakeman

Unread post

This is one I've never played. May have to check it out...
EPH
Dispatcher

Unread post

Thanks for the kudos (EPH is E Porter Hopson - that's me!)

I confess 'Baghdad Railway' is one of my alltime favorites; it has just enough things for the player to do to stay hooked, turn after turn.

I usually begin with industry; textiles, lumber and paper are favorites, as is a distillery. An easy 'first' rail line is south from Ankara to Konya. Konya looks like a waste of time as it is a tiny little place, but it is VERY important. There's usually iron around Konya, and you need that for steel. Why? Because 1 steel + 1 lumber = TRACK and you need all the track you can get!

Once you have steel production going, expand the rail net from Ankara around to Istanbul, picking up industries whenever you can. Make sure you have tool & die or other plants to use up the steel you're hauling! Likewise, furniture, toys and weapons plants are needed to help use lumber.

With steel production in hand and income pouring in from industries, building the railway on to Baghdad is difficult (because of terrain) but do-able.