Africa & Middle East - Goals?

Maps that were never completed by creators that appear to no longer be active.
low_grade
Dispatcher

Africa & Middle East - Goals? Unread post

So I just started playing this scenario. Looks like a great early Africa map, but I'm a little dismayed that I don't see any goals. Not that I'd mind playing a goal-free game for one, it might be quite liberating, but I was just wondering. And also the 25 year limit seems quite short for such a large map. Anybody else play this scenario through? Was it worth it or did you end up feeling dissatisfied?

Anyway my strategy so far has been to first buy rights in Anglo-Egyptian Sudan, build Lumber Mills in Atbarah and Al Ubayyid, and buy up the logging camps all around plus a couple of cotton farms. So far it's a pretty booming start. Wondering how the game will play out.

I like that you don't start with any rights to begin with, too, also very liberating.
Avien

Re: Africa & Middle East - Goals? Unread post

I like the look of this map. It's huge, detailed and straight up pretty. However it seems a bit unfinished. As you say, there is no goal. Also the borders are not 1829, they are more like 1910. And Sahara is full of farms. I think this map needs some love. It would be cool to play a map of 1829 borders. 1858 like this map might also be fun.

Edit: I found out that the map has goals, though they are not explained in the briefing.
OilCan
Engineer

Yeah, this game has goals of connecting 200 cities, a $500M CBV and company cash of $500M for the gold. Unfortunately, there is no game brief provided with the map. This is one of those few game scenarios which is not well described at the start of the game. And about those farms in the Sahara....maybe this is a futuristic view of what could happen as our global precipitation patterns change due to global warming?!?
Avien

It would be global cooling in that case ;)